Holiday Hack: How You Can Turn 24 Days Off Into 58 In 2024

lady sitting on ground with legs around suitcase and holding ticket on red background

3min read

Published 10 October 2023


Share


Long weekend not cutting it? Feel guilty taking time off? Forget your holiday scheduling blues and turn over a new leaf in 2024 – time off is so important to rest and recharge so we can ultimately bring our best selves to work in the long run... and take as many holidays as possible! 

Mark these key dates in your calendar that will give your annual leave allocation a boost and turn 24 days off into 58 by making the most of your weekends and public holidays! Go on, you deserve it!  

Two people kayaking at sunset
Two people kayaking at sunset
Two people kayaking at sunset

December 2023/January 2024

Book three days of leave for a 10-day holiday

Welcome to the highlight of the year, because Christmas and New Year’s fall on Mondays this year – did someone say long weekend? Make the most of the Chrissy and New Years festivities by booking three days of annual leave for an extended silly season.  

Holiday from:  

Saturday, December 23 – Monday, January 1 

Book these dates:  

Wednesday, 27 December 

Thursday, 28 December 

Friday 29, December 

family of four sitting on ground by christmas tree unwrapping presents
family of four sitting on ground by christmas tree unwrapping presents
family of four sitting on ground by christmas tree unwrapping presents

January 2024

Book four days leave for nine days off

With the January 26 public holiday falling on a Friday this year, book leave for the four days leading up to the weekend for an extended summer holiday that feels like the festive season is kicking on! 

Holiday from:  

Saturday, January 20 – Sunday, January 28 

Book these dates:  

Monday, January 22 

Tuesday, January 23 

Wednesday, January 24 

Thursday, January 25 

family of four playing cricket on beach
family of four playing cricket on beach
family of four playing cricket on beach

March/April 2024

Book eight days leave for sixteen days off

Enjoy a smooth transition from March to April with Easter falling on the last weekend of March. Double your leave by booking the four days before the Easter long weekend, as well as the four days following to get a total of 16 days off. Book early to secure your fave holiday spots – maybe it’s a luxe Hamilton Island getaway, a Bali beach break, or a trip to the mountains in New Zealand.  

Holiday from:  

Saturday, March 23 – Sunday, April 7 

Book these dates:  

Monday, March 25 

Tuesday, March 26 

Wednesday, March 27 

Thursday, March 28 

Tuesday, April 2 (Tasmanians can save this day of leave for later with the Easter Tuesday Holiday)  

Wednesday, April 3 

Thursday, April 4 

Friday, April 5 

child with rabbit ears putting eggs in basket easter
child with rabbit ears putting eggs in basket easter
child with rabbit ears putting eggs in basket easter

June 2024

Book four days of leave for nine days off

(This applies to all states except QLD and WA)  

Book annual leave on the days following the King’s Birthday public holiday (10th June) to enjoy nine-days of cozy winter fun in the Barossa, Yarra or Hunter Valley, or even Thredbo!  

Holiday from:  

Saturday, June 8 – Sunday, June 16 

Book these dates:  

Tuesday, June 11 

Wednesday, June 12 

Thursday, June 13 

Friday, June 14 

 

Expert tip: For WA, apply this strategy to September 23 and QLD, October 7.

lady on beach in winter at sunset
lady on beach in winter at sunset
lady on beach in winter at sunset

December 2024/January 2025

Book five (NT, SA), six (QLD) or seven (all other states) days of leave for fourteen days off

Wow, already back to Christmas again – cheers to 2024! Those holidays you took are what got you through, and they were long overdue, we know! Get in early to maximise your holidays again and again! 

Holiday from:  

Saturday, December 21 – Sunday, January 5 

Book these dates:  

Monday, December 23 

Tuesday, December 24 (don’t worry about booking this day if you’re in the NT, QLD or SA) 

Friday, December 27 

Monday, December 30 

Tuesday, December 31 (don’t worry about booking this day if you’re in SA or the NT)  

Thursday, January 2 

Friday, January 3 

Each state and territory may have additional public holidays that you can make the most of – do a quick search and mark those local public holidays in your diary now.    

Make the most of other public holidays by taking 4 days annual leave for yet another nine-day break by starting the weekend before the public holiday and stretching into the weekend after. Kapeesh?   

So, there you have it – a 101 crash course into the art of Holiday Hacking! For the 9-5 Monday to Friday worker, it’s all about maximising your weekends and booking ahead to get the most out of those annual public holidays – turning those long weekends into more than an extended trip to Bunnings!    

For the shift workers, freelancers, and contractors out there – take this same ethos to making the most of your time off and the world is your oyster!    

Now that your leave is booked, it's time for the most important part - booking your holiday! 

...loading
Flight Centre

Flight Centre acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia.

© Flight Centre Travel Group Limited. ATAS Accreditation No. A10412.

*Travel restrictions & conditions apply. Review any specific conditions stated and our general terms at Terms and Conditions. Prices & taxes are correct as at the date of publication & are subject to availability and change without notice. Prices quoted are on sale until the dates specified unless otherwise stated or sold out prior. Prices are per person.